Setting the compose key on Xfce

The compose key is a handy tool to generate characters that aren't available on your keyboard. On Xfce there isn't a readily accessible way to set it, but it can be done rather easily from the Settings Editor:

  1. Launch the Settings Editor from Applications > Settings > Settings Editor or via the terminal by executing the xfce4-settings-editor command

  2. Select the keyboard-layout channel

  3. Look for the Compose property under Default > XkbOptions > Compose

  4. To enable the compose key you have to enter one of the following values in the Compose property:

    Compose key Value
    Right Win compose:rwin
    Left Win compose:lwin
    Right Ctrl compose:rctrl
    Left Ctrl compose:lctrl
    Right Alt compose:ralt

The resulting setting should look like this (I'm using the right Windows key in this example):

/images/xfce-compose-key.png